Uncategorized

Handmade in Wales, unwrapped in England

Every year I have grand schemes of making presents for my nearest and dearest for Christmas, firstly because it’s nice to give things that are both useful and unique rather than buying random stuff and secondly because it gives me chance to enjoy blissfully long says in the sewing cave. But, every year this never happens and I realise it’s Christmas Eve and there is no way the sewing machine will win out over the wine with only hours to go before the day.

This year I made the effort to plan early and look for things that I could have fun with and make, use my existing fabric stash (to make room for more in sales) and that people would actually like and use. I have shared what I made in this post and the patterns/sources for them, of course this is after Christmas in case people saw their gifts on here, but it’s not like there aren’t any other days to give gifts in a year or you could start planning now so you can enjoy longer procrastination time!

Patterns for Pirates Infinity Scarf (Free tutorial!)

https://www.patternsforpirates.com/zipper-scarf-tutorial/

This was an actual last minute decision but an easy make to leave until later. These started appearing in the P4P Facebook group everywhere, because the best part is it has a pocket stashed away inside! I recommend looking in the group to see the amusing things people put in the pockets. I also made one for myself and am pretty much in love with it, I also discovered I can fit blocks of cheese, gin bottles and Tom Cruise into the pocket. There are also about 90% of teachers that appear to have received them as gifts this year if the group is anything to go by. I get so many people asking about my own and now my family and friends are utilising them with their own weird stash ideas.

Slipper socks and eye mask

https://www.tillyandthebuttons.com/2017/11/free-pattern-make-your-own-snuggly.html

Slippers and Christmas together are a strong duo so this was a classic choice but again practical. In my stash I already had the fabrics and so experimented with making these for a Baloo fan! The bottoms can be made with proper soles to be more boot like but I wanted these to be cosy socks to lounge in. For the eye mask I cut around an existing one and did scientific head measuring on myself with a piece of elastic.

Yoga Cover up

http://yogahound.co.uk/product/yoga-cover-up-printable-pdf-pattern-coming-soon/

I’ve made two of these for myself before, one with careful consideration and the other in a mad fit of sewing craving 2 hours before I had to be at my class. They have both gone down very well with fellow practising yogi friends and so making these for presents was more of a demand than my own idea. Very easy to make and comfy all year long whether you bend on a mat or sit on the sofa.

Christmas Eve sofa wear appears to also now be a thing and these would be great in Christmas fabrics for those less inclined to be practising yoga and more likely to be opening wine and advent calendars – versatile!

All presents went down extremely well so buoyed on by this years success I will again make the effort next year for sure, Merry Christmas (Nadolig Llawen) all!

Leave a comment